february 2022
16 17 — 19h30
18 — 17h30 + 20h
19 — 15h30 + 19h30
La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines

18 P_R_A_C_T_I_C_E_S

Andrew Turner

1/4

Introduction

18 P_R_A_C_T_I_C_E_S explores the seemingly stable “I” as a collection of odd, truncated fictions, percolating just beneath the surface. With a physicality both fluid and uncoordinated, and with a sense of humour both deliciously absurd and razor sharp, Andrew Turner probes the parts of ourselves that show up unannounced and uninvited.

Credits

Choreographer and performer:
Andrew Turner

Sound:
David Drury

Coproduction :
Danse-Cité & Andrew Turner

Partners :
Circuit-Est, centre chorégraphique (Montréal), Théâtre Sévelin 36 (Lausanne), Tangente (Montréal), Milvus Artistic Research Center (Knislinge), Salon 58 (Marsoui), The Stable (Montréal), La Maison de la Culture du Plateau Mont-Royal (Montréal)

Dramaturgical advisors:
Thea Patterson, Amélie Rajotte, Anne Thériault

Lighting design:
Paul Chambers

Financial supports :
Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, Conseil des Arts du Canada

Image:
Justin Desforges

Approach

“ This project centres a collection of eighteen diversely textured practices, some strictly dance-related and others arising out of a scattering of my odd quasi-obsessions, from speaking (and singing) in reverse to light sabre spinning. Each practice is inspired by a recent translation of Homer’s Odyssey by Emily Wilson (2017), the first by a woman scholar, acclaimed for its contemporary critical perspective on this seminal myth.

I discovered Wilson’s subversive version at a time when I was re-evaluating my own conception of masculinity and virility, notions that are frequently and unfortunately fused.  Odysseus presents an early Western blueprint for some of the unquestioned, problematic notions of masculinity prevalent today. An avid childhood reader of the myth, I believe my own masculine substructure emerged partly in response to those tales of a warrior king and noble wanderer on his 10-year return from the Trojan War. Wilson’s Odysseus is nuanced and far less heroic: a failed captain arriving to Ithaca alone after having led his crew to their deaths; an anti-social and adulterous man; a lying and marauding colonialist figure.

18 P_R_A_C_T_I_C_E_S is not a piece about the Odyssey, but rather a danced response to it. The archaeological metaphor of the palimpsest has guided the work: ancient texts, scraped clean to make room for newer documents but still retaining visible traces of the past. The piece seeks to explore the complex, layered traces of narratives and behaviours existing under the seemingly stable ‘I’. “​​ — Andrew Turner

Biographies

Leaving his studies in history and philosophy, and with no prior dance training, Andrew Turner was inexplicably accepted into Concordia University‘s Contemporary Dance Department in 2001. There he discovered a passion for both creation and performance. He has performed, both in Canada and abroad, for such choreographers as Marie-Julie Asselin, Marie Béland, Deborah Dunn, Milan Gervais, André Gingras, Thierry Huard, Sasha Kleinplatz, Benoît Lachambre, Ginette Laurin, Paula de Vasconcelos, Pierre-Paul Savoie and others. As a choreographer, Andrew's creations include Duet For One Plus Digressions (2008), Now I Got Worry, (2010), A Standard of Measure, Except Not Really (2015). His work has been presented in Canada, France Belgium, the United States and Mexico. He has received awards from the Office Québec-Amériques pour la jeunesse (2008) and the Office Québec Wallonie-Bruxelles pour la jeunesse (2009), and Les Entrées en Scène Loto-Québec (2010). In 2015 he received the danceWEB Scholarship at Impulstanz in Vienna. He was an invited choreographer at the Banff Center for the Arts and Creativity (2016), as well as at Théâtre Sévellin 36 in Lausanne (2018). He has choreographed commissioned works for ODD (2014) and the School of Dance (Ottawa, 2016). He is currently completing an MA in choreography at l’Université du Québec à Montréal.

février 2022
16 17 — 19h30
18 — 17h30 + 20h
19 — 15h30 + 19h30
La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines

18 P_R_A_C_T_I_C_E_S

Andrew Turner

1/4

Introduction

18 P_R_A_C_T_I_C_E_S explore le « je » apparemment stable, comme une collection de fictions étranges et tronquées, qui percolent juste sous la surface. Avec une physicalité à la fois fluide et désordonnée, et un sens de l'humour à la fois absurde et tranchant comme un rasoir, Andrew Turner sonde les parties de nous qui apparaissent à l'improviste et sans y être invitées.

Crédits

Chorégraphie et interprétation :
Andrew Turner

Composition musicale :
David Drury

Coproduction :
Danse-Cité & Andrew Turner

Partenaires :
Circuit-Est, centre chorégraphique (Montréal), Théâtre Sévelin 36 (Lausanne), Tangente (Montréal), Milvus Artistic Research Center (Knislinge), Salon 58 (Marsoui), The Stable (Montréal), La Maison de la Culture du Plateau Mont-Royal (Montréal)

Accompagnatrices à la dramaturgie :
Thea Patterson, Amélie Rajotte, Anne Thériault

Conception éclairages :
Paul Chambers

Soutiens financiers :
Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, Conseil des Arts du Canada

Image:
Justin Desforges

Démarche

Ce projet a été imaginé autour d'un ensemble de 18 pratiques aux textures variées. Certaines sont spécifiquement liées à la danse et d'autres sont issues de mes obsessions, comme parler ou chanter à l'envers ou encore faire tourner un sabre laser. Chaque pratique s'inspire d'une traduction récente de l'Odyssée d'Homère par Emily Wilson (2017), la première version rédigée par une femme savante et acclamée pour sa perspective critique contemporaine sur ce mythe fondateur.

“ J'ai découvert la version étonnamment subversive de Wilson à un moment où je réévaluais ma propre conception de la masculinité et de la virilité. (Deux notions qui malheureusement fusionnent trop souvent !) L’Odyssée d’Homère présente un modèle occidental précoce de certaines des notions problématiques et ambivalentes  de la masculinité qui prévalent aujourd'hui. Enfant, j'ai été un lecteur assidu du mythe et je crois que ma propre conceptualisation de la masculinité a émergé en partie en réponse à ces récits de roi guerrier et de noble vagabond revenant de la guerre de Troie 10 ans plus tard. L'Odyssée de Wilson est nuancé et bien moins héroïque : un capitaine raté arrive seul à Ithaque après avoir mené son équipage à la mort, un homme asocial et infidèle, une figure coloniale menteuse et profiteuse. 

18 P_R_A_C_T_I_C_E_S n'est pas une pièce « sur » l'Odyssée, mais plutôt une  « réponse » dansée au poème. La métaphore archéologique du  « palimpseste » (des textes anciens grattés sur des parchemins dont on a effacé la première écriture pour pouvoir écrire de nouveaux textes, mais qui gardent des traces du passé) a été notre guide. La pièce cherche donc à explorer les traces complexes et superposées des récits et des comportements existant sous le « je » apparemment stable. ”​​ — Andrew Turner

Biographies

Après avoir quitté ses études d'histoire et de philosophie, et sans aucune formation préalable en danse, Andrew Turner a été accepté au Département de danse contemporaine de l'Université de Concordia en 2001. Il s'y découvre une passion pour la création et la performance. Il s'est produit, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger, pour des chorégraphes tel·les que Marie-Julie Asselin, Marie Béland, Deborah Dunn, Milan Gervais, André Gingras, Thierry Huard, Sasha Kleinplatz, Benoit Lachambre, Ginette Laurin, Paula de Vasconcelos, Pierre-Paul Savoie et d'autres. En tant que chorégraphe, les créations d'Andrew comprennent Duet For One Plus Digressions (2008), Now I Got Worry, (2010), A Standard of Measure, Except Not Really (2015). Son travail a été présenté au Canada, en France, en Belgique, aux États-Unis et au Mexique. Il a reçu des prix de l'Office Québec-Amériques pour la jeunesse (2008), de l'Office Québec Wallonie-Bruxelles pour la jeunesse (2009), et de Entrées en scène Loto-Québec (2010). En 2015, il a reçu la bourse DanceWEB Europe à l'Impulstanz Vienna. Il a été chorégraphe invité au Banff Center for the Arts and Creativity (2016), ainsi qu'au Théâtre Sévellin 36 à Lausanne (2018). Il a chorégraphié des œuvres de commande pour ODD (2014) et l'École de danse (Ottawa, 2016). Il termine actuellement sa maîtrise en chorégraphie à l'Université du Québec à Montréal.