History

In 1982, in Québec’s effervescent contemporary dance scene, Daniel Soulières founded Danse-Cité, a unique dance company without a choreographer or dancers and without a dedicated venue, staunchly open to experimentation and innovative projects, and entirely dedicated to creation in Montréal.

Over the years, Danse-Cité’s history has created different formats for presenting works and properly hosting and supporting artists, always adapting to the evolution of the Montréal dance community and its needs.

The 1980s

  • 1983 to 1986.

    With the events Most Modern and Événements de la pleine lune, Danse-Cité makes room for a new generation of dancers: Louise Bédard, Ginette Laurin, Daniel Soulières, Monique Girard and many others. Performers and choreographers present their shows alongside composers and musicians.

  • 1983.

    Jean-Pierre Perreault is given carte blanche to create Joe et Rodolphe for fourteen dancers and four musicians.

  • 1986.

    The first Volet Chorégraphe proposes one program shared by two choreographers. Danse-Cité presents emerging artists such as Catherine Tardif, Daniel Soulières, Sylvain Émard, Danièle Desnoyers, Hélène Blackburn, Andrew Harwood and William Douglas. A two-week performance run was instituted to support artists developing their craft as performers and makers.

  • The 1990s

  • 1990.

    Two new formats appear: the Volet Intégral, an evening devoted to a single choreographer, and the Volet Interprète, in which a dancer is artistic director of their own project.

  • The event Most Modern continues.

  • Local artists begin exchanges with European artists, namely a  collaboration with Berlin-based choreographer Sasha Waltz and Benoît Lachambre, and the production HAUTNAH by German artist Felix Ruckert.

  • 1991.

    Danse-Cité becomes a tenant and resident dance company of the Agora de la danse and consolidates its structure. Permanent staff is recruited to offer artistic, administrative, production and communication support.

  • Other art forms become integral to some productions, namely theatre and video.

  • Rehearsal studios are opened to the audience and post-show discussions (jeudis causeries) are established for conversations between spectators and artists. 

  • The 2000s

    In 2002, the Celebration formula was presented for Danse-Cité’s 20th anniversary. This project combined past and future by remounting repertoire of the Volet Interprète, transmitted by one generation of dancers to a younger one.

  • 2003.

    Danse-Cité adopted a new signature: the Trace des créateurs, divided into three distinct sections: Traces-Interprètes, Traces-Chorégraphes and Traces-Hors-Sentiers, the latter offering carte blanche to artists working in the periphery of dance.
    International exchanges continue.

  • 2007.

    Art Circulation is founded, a consortium of Montréal companies supporting and promoting the work of its members nationally and internationally.

  • The 2010s

    Danse-Cité begins collaborating with new faces in contemporary creation, Audrey Bergeron, David Albert-Toth and Emily Gualtieri, Eduardo Ruiz Vergara, and Milan Gervais. The company also creates more cultural animation projects (Les Impatients, La Trace de ceux qui ont marché).

    Productions are presented in new and unusual venues such as a nine-story parking lot with Inscape: the other now (2019), and a former institute for the deaf and dumb with La Loba (2016). The company leads intergenerational projects (Pluto - act I, II, III); projects giving more voice to performers (Nous (ne) sommes (pas) tous des danseurs, 2016, 2018, 2019); and multiform and international collaborations (Ginette Laurin - Québec and Jens Van Daele - Netherlands, 2017; Antonija Livingstone - Canada and Nadia Lauro - France, 2019).

  • 2019

    Daniel Soulières hands over the artistic direction and general management to artist Sophie Corriveau, leaving his role in the company March 31, 2020.

  • 2021.

    At the beginning of its 40th season (2021), Danse-Cité has presented more than 341 original choreographies, with more than 1142 performances of 151 productions, in 63 venues, bringing together more than 865 performers since 1982.

Histoire

En 1982, en pleine effervescence de la danse contemporaine au Québec Daniel Soulières fonde Danse-Cité, une compagnie de danse au profil unique, sans chorégraphe ni danseur·euses attitré·es, nomade, sans lieux de diffusion attitrés, ouverte à l'expérimentation et aux projets novateurs, entièrement dédiée à la création montréalaise.

L’historique de Danse-Cité se tisse à travers la mise en place, au fil des ans, de différentes formules et volets de présentation des œuvres pour toujours mieux accueillir les artistes, les soutenir et s’adapter à l’évolution du milieu de la danse à Montréal et à ses besoins.

les années 80

  • 1983.

    Jean-Pierre Perreault se voit offrir une « carte blanche » et crée Joe et Rodolphe pour 14 danseur·euses et 4 musicien·nes.

  • 1983 à 1986.

    Sous les appellations Most Modern et les Événements de la pleine lune, Danse-Cité fait place à la relève de l'époque : Louise Bédard, Ginette Laurin, Daniel Soulières, Monique Girard et bien d'autres qui, tour à tour interprètes et chorégraphes, présentent leurs spectacles en compagnie de compositeur·rices et musicien·nes de l’heure. 

  • 1986.

    Le premier Volet Chorégraphe voit le jour sous la forme de soirée partagée entre deux chorégraphes. Les soirées partagées nous révèlent les recrues du temps que sont, entre autres, Catherine Tardif, Daniel Soulières, Sylvain Émard, Danièle Desnoyers, Hélène Blackburn, Andrew Harwood et William Douglas. Deux semaines de représentations sont instaurées pour contribuer au développement des artistes et au renforcement de leur pratique.

  • les années 90

  • 1990.

    Deux nouvelles formules apparaissent, la Formule Intégrale, soirée complète consacrée à un·e chorégraphe, et la Formule Interprètes dans laquelle un interprète se voit offrir la responsabilité des orientations artistiques de son projet.

  • Les Most Modern se poursuivent.

  • Début des échanges artistiques avec l'Europe avec une collaboration de la chorégraphe berlinoise Sasha Waltz et Benoît Lachambre et la production de HAUTNAH de l'Allemand Felix Ruckert. 

  • 1991.

    Danse-Cité devient locataire et compagnie de danse résidente de l'Agora de la danse et consolide sa structure : un personnel permanent est recruté pour encadrer les projets des artistes en proposant à ces derniers un soutien artistique, administratif, en production et en communication. 

  • Intégration d'autres formes d'art au cœur des productions. Plusieurs projets alliant danse et théâtre et danse et vidéo voient le jour.  

  • Ouverture des studios de répétitions au public et instauration des jeudis-causeries comme lieu d’échanges entre spectateur·trices et artistes.  

  • Les années 2000

    La formule Célébration est présentée lors du 20e anniversaire de Danse-Cité (2002). Ce projet allie passé et futur par la reprise d'œuvres puisées à même le répertoire des formules consacrées aux interprètes et dansées ici par la relève. Les chorégraphies sont enseignées aux plus jeunes par les interprètes qui les ont créées.

  • 2003.

    Danse-Cité se dote d'une nouvelle signature : La Trace des créateurs. Celle-ci se décline en trois volets distincts : Traces-Interprètes, Traces-Chorégraphes et la Traces-Hors-Sentiers, cette dernière offrant carte blanche à des artistes œuvrant en périphérie de la danse. 

  • 2007.

    Naissance de Art Circulation : un consortium de compagnies montréalaises qui soutient et promeut le travail de ses membres à l’échelle nationale et internationale. 

  • Les années 2010

    Danse-Cité collabore avec de nouveaux visages de la création contemporaine, Audrey Bergeron, David Albert-Toth & Emily Gualtieri, Eduardo Ruiz Vergara, Milan Gervais, et multiplie les projets d’animation culturelle (Les Impatients, La Trace de ceux qui ont marché). De nouveaux lieux de diffusion inusités sont explorés, tel un stationnement à 9 étages avec Inscape : l’autre maintenant (2019), ou encore un ancien institut pour sourds et muets avec La Loba (2016). 

    Les projets spécifiques voient le jour : Projets intergénérationnels (Pluton - acte I, II, III) Projets prises de paroles des interprètes (Nous (ne) sommes (pas) tous des danseurs : 2016, 2018, 2019). Les collaborations deviennent multiformes et s'ouvrent à l'international (Ginette Laurin - Québec & Jens Van Daele - Pays Bas, 2017; Antonija Livingstone - Canada & Nadia Lauro - France, 2019).

  • 2019.

    Daniel Soulières transmet la direction générale et artistique à l’artiste Sophie Corriveau. Il quitte pleinement ses fonctions le 31 mars 2020.

  • 2021.

    À l’aube de sa 40e saison (2021), Danse-Cité comptabilise plus de 341 chorégraphies originales, avec plus de 1142 représentations, pour 151 productions, dans 63 lieux de diffusion, réunissant plus de 865 interprètes depuis 1982.