Mission & Mandate

Danse-Cité’s offices and the venues where our programming occurs are located on the traditional and unceded territory of the Kanien’keha:ka (Mohawk). Tiohtiá:ke/ Mooniyang/ Montréal, has long served as a place for gathering and exchange between indigenous nations, including the omàmiwinini or Algonquin people. In respecting our connections to the past, present and future, we look to acknowledge an ongoing interconnectedness with Indigenous and all other peoples currently gathered in the larger Montréal community.

Mission

Our mission is to contribute to the evolution of dance practices and contemporary creation by supporting artists through research, creation, production and/or presentation.

Mandate

  • Danse-Cité accompanies artists as they develop and unfold their artistic process, from the inception of an idea to its presentation before an audience;

  • Danse-Cité is invested in self-critical and sustainable structural work to become an organization that understands power and respects the dignity and self-determination of the humans, artists, and cultural workers with whom it comes into contact no matter the origin, ethnicity, gender, ability, size, religion, and age;

  • Danse-Cité supports the emergence of new authorship, a diversity of practices and backgrounds, the maturing of artistic processes as well as the meeting and integration of other disciplinary practices;

  • Danse-Cité is developing activities that facilitate universal access to the arts.

  • In this exceptional year, fallow imposed itself as vital to long-term productivity. We took advantage of this time to consolidate research and creation spaces and open ourselves to new presentation modes.

    Danse-Cité was founded in 1982 by dancer and choreographer Daniel Soulières.

    The Artistic and Executive Director and the Advisor, Programming and Artistic Activities share the responsibility of selecting artists. We invite creators that would like to collaborate with Danse-Cité to communicate with Sophie Corriveau and/or Ellen Furey via email. To date, the 2022–2023 season is fully booked.

    Accessibility

    Our office is located :
    3680, Jeanne Mance street, office 426
    Montréal, QC, H2X2K5
    It is accessible to people with reduced mobility.

    Entrance: Double doors with automatic button.
    Washrooms: Washrooms with an accessible stall in each (non-automated).
    Elevator: Our office is on the fourth floor. There is an elevator to get to the fourth floor.

    Make a donation to Danse-Cité here

    Thanks for your precious support.

Mission & Mandat

Nous reconnaissons que les bureaux de Danse-Cité ainsi que les lieux où se déroulent les activités de l’organisme sont situés sur les terres du territoire traditionnel non cédé des Kanien’keha:ka (Mohawks) qui a longtemps servi de lieu de rassemblement et d’échange entre les nations, y compris le peuple omàmiwinini ou Algonquin. C’est dans le respect des liens avec le passé, le présent et l'avenir que nous reconnaissons les relations continues entre les Peuples Autochtones et autres personnes de la communauté montréalaise.

Mission

Notre mission est de contribuer à l’évolution des pratiques de la danse et de la création contemporaine en soutenant les artistes en recherche, création, production et/ou diffusion.

Mandat

  • Danse-Cité accompagne les artistes dans le développement et le déploiement de leur démarche artistique, de la naissance de l’idée à la présentation devant public ;

  • Danse-Cité s'investit dans un travail structurel autocritique et durable pour devenir un organisme qui comprend le pouvoir et respecte la dignité et l'autodétermination des humain·es, des artistes et des travailleur·es culturel·les avec lesquel·les elle entre en contact, peu importe la race, l'ethnie, le sexe, les capacités physiques, la taille, la religion et l'âge ;

  • Danse-Cité soutient l'émergence de nouvelles écritures, de la diversité des pratiques et des parcours, l’approfondissement des démarches artistiques tout autant que la rencontre et l'intégration d'autres champs disciplinaires ;

  • Danse-Cité développe actuellement des activités favorisant l’accessibilité universelle aux arts.

  • Danse-Cité a profité aussi de l'année exceptionnelle de pandémie, où la jachère s’est imposée comme partie intégrante d’une productivité à long terme, pour renforcer les espaces de recherche et de création et s’ouvrir à d’autres modes de diffusion.

    Danse-Cité a été fondé en 1982 à Montréal par le danseur Daniel Soulières. 

    La directrice artistique et générale et la conseillère à la programmation assument conjointement la responsabilité du choix des artistes. Les créateur·rices qui aimeraient collaborer avec Danse-Cité sont invité·es à communiquer par courriel avec Sophie Corriveau et-ou Ellen Furey. À ce jour, la saison 2022-2023 est complétée.

    Accessibilité

    Notre bureau se trouve au :
    3680, rue Jeanne Mance, bureau 426
    Montréal, QC, H2X2K5
    Il est accessible aux personnes à capacité physique restreinte.

    Entrée : Portes doubles avec bouton automatique.
    Ascenseur : Les bureaux se trouvent au quatrième étage. Un ascenseur mène au quatrième étage.
    Salles de bains : Salles de bains dotées d’une cabine de toilette accessible (non automatisée).

    Faire un don à Danse-Cité ici

    Merci pour votre généreux soutien.