Espace Recherche

Introduction

Launched in February 2021 and running from February 22 to March 14, Espace Recherche hosted six creative teams in the studio and theatre of the Mainline Theatre. Each team had seven days to practice, free of production or promotion imperatives. A meeting and conversation between artists was held every Friday.

Sophie Corriveau and Ellen Furey are currently working towards a second edition of this event.

Artists participating in the first Espace Recherche were Kim-Sanh Châu + Louise Michel Jackson, Hanako Hoshimi Caines + Erin Hill, Alexandra Landé “Spicey” — Jean-Édouard “Sangwn” Pierre Toussaint + Samuel “Ssam” Lord + Frédérique “Pax” Dumas, Victoria Mackenzie “Vicversa” + Ja + Nubian Nene + Sshash’u + Easy C & Pénélope Martel Gromko + Silvia Sanchez + Pamela Gomez Widman.

Espace Recherche — 2nd Edition

In winter 2021, Danse-Cité launched a new platform, Espace Recherche, to help contribute to the wellness and support of the artistic milieu and to keep artists working by offering a space and time where it is possible to focus on research, creative process and experimenting without production imperatives. Through Espace Recherche, each artist receives a cachet for one week. A meeting/conversation between the teams of artists takes place at the end of the week, lead by a facilitator, with the goal of sharing, exchanging, and offering solidarity. Last February, for 3 weeks, 5 artistic teams (15 artists in total) occupied the spaces at Mainline Theatre for 7 days each.

We are delighted to be able to offer this initiative for a second consecutive edition. This season, Espace Recherche is happening from October 18th-31st. Danse-Cité invited 4 artists who in turn invited two collaborators for the entire duration of their residency. The 4 teams have 24hr access to one of the two spaces at Mainline Theatre.

Espace Recherche 2021-2022 is comprised of:

Nien Tzu Weng with Sebastian Kann and Basile Herrmann Philippe
Vlad 7Starr Laurore
with Mathilde Mercier-Beloin and Gara Nlandu
Kim Ninkuru
with Stina Baudin and Assiyah Jamilla 
Frédérique Rodier
with Simon Chioini and Andréanne Martel 
As well as facilitator Winnie Ho

Danse-Cité would like to thank our public partners, The Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Canada Council for the Arts who have made this initiative possible with the support of emergency artist relief funds. Danse-Cité would also like to thank the Caisse de la Culture Desjardins who in-turn contributed to making Espace Recherche possible through the Support funds for development in the milieu.


Biographies

upcoming events

Aug 02 - Aug 28

Mainline Theater

La Factory: A Femme/A Role Model N0 QT3XP0C · Elle Barbara

    Residency

    Oct 18 - Oct 31

    Mainline Theater

    The 2nd edition of Espace Recherche has begun.

    The 2nd edition of Espace Recherche has begun.

      Read More

Espace Recherche

Introduction

Lancée en février 2021, la plateforme Espace Recherche a accueilli du 22 février au 14 mars 2021, six équipes créatrices dans le studio et la salle de spectacle du Théâtre Mainline, pour une durée de sept jours chacune, sans aucun impératif de production et de promotion. Chaque vendredi, une rencontre/conversation était organisée entre les artistes.

Sophie Corriveau et Ellen Furey travaillent actuellement à une deuxième édition.

Les premier·ères artistes d’Espace Recherche ont été Kim-Sanh Châu + Louise Michel Jackson, Hanako Hoshimi Caines + Erin Hill, Alexandra Landé «spicey» - Jean-édouard «sangwn» Pierre Toussaint + Samuel «ssam» Lord + Frédérique «pax» Dumas, Victoria Mackenzie  «vicversa» + Ja + Nubian Nene + Sshash'u + Easy C & Pénélope  Martel Gromko + Silvia Sanchez + Pamela Gomez Widman.

Espace Recherche — 2e Edition

À l’hiver 2021, Danse-Cité lançait sa nouvelle plateforme, Espace Recherche, afin de contribuer au bien-être et à la relance du milieu artistique et de garder les artistes à l'œuvre en offrant un espace/temps où il est possible de se concentrer sur la recherche, le processus de création, les expérimentations, sans impératif de production. Avec Espace Recherche, chaque artiste présent·e reçoit un cachet pour la semaine. Une rencontre/conversation entre les équipes prend place à la fin de la semaine, animée par une facilitatrice, dans un but de partage, d’échanges et de solidarité. En février dernier, pendant 3 semaines, 5 équipes artistiques, (15 artistes au total), ont habité les espaces du Mainline Theater, pour une durée de 7 jours chacune. 

Nous sommes enchantées de pouvoir reconduire l’initiative pour une deuxième édition. Cette saison, Espace Recherche se déroule du 18 au 31 octobre. Danse-Cité a invité 4 artistes qui à leur tour ont invité 2 collaborateur·trices pour toute la durée de la résidence. Les 4 équipes ont accès 24 heures sur 24 à l'un des deux espaces du Mainline Theatre.

Espace Recherche 2021-2022 est composé dans son ensemble par:

Nien Tzu Weng avec Sebastian Kann et Basile Herrmann Philipp
Vlad "7Starr" Laurore
avec Mathilde Mercier-Beloin et Gara Nlandu
Kim Ninkuru
avec Stina Baudin et Assiyah Jamilla 
Frédérique Rodier
avec Simon Chioini et Andréanne Martel 
Ainsi que la facilitatrice Winnie Ho

Danse-Cité remercie ses partenaires publics, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et le Conseil des arts du Canada qui rendent possible cette initiative avec l’octroi de fonds d’urgence et de relance. Danse-Cité remercie aussi la Caisse de la culture Desjardins qui contribue également au déploiement d’Espace Recherche grâce au Fonds d’aide au développement du milieu. 

Biographies

événements À venir

Aug 02 - Aug 28

Théâtre Mainline

La Factory : A Femme/A Role Model No QT3XP0C · Elle Barbara

    Residency

    Oct 18 - Oct 31

    Mainline Theater

    La 2e édition de Espace Recherche est lancée.

    La 2e édition de Espace Recherche est lancée.

      Savoir plus