Espace Recherche


Launched in February 2021 and running from February 22 to March 14, Espace Recherche hosted six creative teams in the studio and theatre of the Mainline Theatre. Each team had seven days to practice, free of production or promotion imperatives. A meeting and conversation between artists was held every Friday.

Sophie Corriveau and Ellen Furey are currently working towards a second edition of this event.

Artists participating in the first Espace Recherche were Kim-Sanh Châu + Louise Michel Jackson, Hanako Hoshimi Caines + Erin Hill, Alexandra Landé “Spicey” — Jean-Édouard “Sangwn” Pierre Toussaint + Samuel “Ssam” Lord + Frédérique “Pax” Dumas, Victoria Mackenzie “Vicversa” + Ja + Nubian Nene + Sshash’u + Easy C & Pénélope Martel Gromko + Silvia Sanchez + Pamela Gomez Widman.

Espace Recherche — 2nd Edition

In winter 2021, Danse-Cité launched a new platform, Espace Recherche, to help contribute to the wellness and support of the artistic milieu and to keep artists working by offering a space and time where it is possible to focus on research, creative process and experimenting without production imperatives. Through Espace Recherche, each artist receives a cachet for one week. A meeting/conversation between the teams of artists takes place at the end of the week, lead by a facilitator, with the goal of sharing, exchanging, and offering solidarity. Last February, for 3 weeks, 5 artistic teams (15 artists in total) occupied the spaces at Mainline Theatre for 7 days each.

We are delighted to be able to offer this initiative for a second consecutive edition. This season, Espace Recherche is happening from October 18th-31st. Danse-Cité invited 4 artists who in turn invited two collaborators for the entire duration of their residency. The 4 teams have 24hr access to one of the two spaces at Mainline Theatre.

Espace Recherche 2021-2022 is comprised of:

Nien Tzu Weng with Sebastian Kann and Basile Herrmann Philippe
Vlad 7Starr Laurore
with Mathilde Mercier-Beloin and Gara Nlandu
Kim Ninkuru
with Stina Baudin and Assiyah Jamilla 
Frédérique Rodier
with Simon Chioini and Andréanne Martel 
As well as facilitator Winnie Ho

Danse-Cité would like to thank our public partners, The Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Canada Council for the Arts who have made this initiative possible with the support of emergency artist relief funds. Danse-Cité would also like to thank the Caisse de la Culture Desjardins who in-turn contributed to making Espace Recherche possible through the Support funds for development in the milieu.


upcoming events

Aug 02 - Aug 28

Mainline Theater

La Factory: A Femme/A Role Model N0 QT3XP0C · Elle Barbara


    Oct 18 - Oct 31

    Mainline Theater

    The 2nd edition of Espace Recherche has begun.

    The 2nd edition of Espace Recherche has begun.

      Read More