aWokening

Winnie Ho

1/3

Introduction

How does one reconnect with one’s roots once settled in a new land? Winnie dives into her estranged and distant relationship with Hong Kong, her birthplace, by moving through the complexities of her diaspora and her queerness. She explores a traditional Chinese cooking instrument, the wok, and immerses herself in wok chi (鑊氣), the wok energy, which gives Cantonese cuisine its distinct taste. By sensorially examining the methods and the materials used in Cantonese cooking, she aims to listen and re-connect intimately with her ancestry.

Credits

Choreography and performance:
Winnie Ho

Lighting design:
Karine Gauthier

Scenography:
Florence Yee 

Dramaturgy:
Hanako Hoshimi-Caines, Lara Kramer

Sound design:
Moe Clark

Images:
Vanessa Fortin · David Wong

Approach

“ My creative process involves sensorial stimulation and embodiment of materials, which have been inspired by my on-going research and relationship to my queer identity, Chinese diaspora and notions of pleasure and play. I explore these topics by connecting to my Chinese culture, and specifically, aiming to merge the technique and methods of Cantonese (Southern China) cooking into my diasporic research and dance-making process.  

I’m curious to embody concepts such as braising 燉, steaming 蒸, pan-frying 炒, marinating 醃 and wok-chi 鑊氣 ​​— the flavour, tastes, and essence imparted by a wok which is a specialized iron pan exclusively used in Cantonese cooking. By sensorially examining methods and materials used in this cuisine, I aim to connect, listen and move intimately with the external: material, space and audience. ” ​​

— Winnie Ho

Biographies

Mars 2022
9 10 11 12 — 19 h 30
13 — 15 h 00 (avec audiodescription en direct)
Agora du Coeur des Sciences - UQÀM

aWokening

Winnie Ho

1/3

Introduction

Comment réussir à se connecter à ses racines une fois installée sur une nouvelle terre? Winnie plonge dans sa relation distante et brouillée avec Hong Kong, son lieu de naissance, en naviguant à travers les complexités de sa diaspora et de son identité queer. Elle explore un instrument de cuisson chinoise traditionnelle, le wok, et s’immerge dans le wok chi (鑊氣), l’énergie du wok, qui donne à la cuisine cantonaise son goût singulier. En examinant de manière sensorielle, les méthodes et les matières utilisées dans la cuisine cantonaise, elle cherche à écouter, à se re-connecter avec ses ancêtres.

Crédits

Chorégraphie et interprétation :
Winnie Ho

Conception éclairages :
Nien Tzu Weng

Scénographie :
Florence Yee

Dramaturgie :
Hanako Hoshimi-Caines, Lara Kramer

Conception sonore :
Moe Clark

Images :
Vanessa Fortin · David Wong

Démarche

“ Mon processus créatif implique des stimulations sensorielles et l'incarnation de matériaux, qui ont été inspirés par mes recherches en cours et ma relation avec mon identité queer, la diaspora chinoise et la notion de plaisir et de jeu. J'explore ces sujets en me connectant à ma culture chinoise. Plus particulièrement, je cherche à fusionner la technique et les méthodes de la cuisine cantonaise (peuple du sud de la Chine) dans ma recherche diasporique et mon processus de création de danse.

Je suis curieuse d'incarner des concepts tels que le braisage 燉, la cuisson à la vapeur 蒸, la cuisson à la poêle 炒, la marinade 醃 et le wok-chi 鑊氣, la saveur, les goûts et l'essence transmis par le wok, une poêle en fer spécialisée utilisée exclusivement dans la cuisine cantonaise. En examinant de manière sensorielle les méthodes et les matériaux utilisés dans la cuisine cantonaise, je cherche à me connecter, à écouter et à me déplacer intimement avec l'extérieur : le matériel, l'espace et le public. ”​​

— Winnie Ho

Biographies